The main focus of this blog is to showcase my love of crocheting, but I also want to share the passion I have harbored for writing since I was a small child. Writing has always been a huge part of my life, whether it’s creating stories on scraps of paper or daydreaming for hours, getting so lost in my own world, I find myself disappointed with reality.

Although, while I have always loved writing, the thought of being an author was daunting at first and seemed unobtainable. As if, authors were an elite class chosen to gift the world with their stories, and if I wasn’t one of the lucky ones, I was stuck to entertain myself. This thought was mostly likely born from depressive thoughts I have battled with since I was young, but even now, that idea rears its ugly head.

However, these thoughts did not stop me from at least trying to pursue my passion. I started on the path to become a published author in high school after reading a post in a teen magazine. If memory serves right, the article was about a slew of careers young women could achieve. The word “Novelist” drew me closer to the page, holding the magazine within inches of my face, so that I could clearly see the small print:

img_9162

The advice was short, but enough to set me on fire. Cutting out the piece, I taped it inside a folder with a host of story ideas, and various first chapters. I took advanced English classes in high school, and majored in English Literature/ Creative Writing in college, earning a Bachelor’s degree this year. I have participated and placed in minor contest, and every day, I grow more and more in love with the stories I haven’t even written yet.

This year, I will be attempting NaNoWriMo, national novel writing month, where the challenge is writing 50,000 words towards a novel in one month. It is a daunting task, but on the other hand, if I don’t at least try, I will never know I can do it.

In the final days leading to NaNoWriMo, I want to encourage anyone pursuing their passion. I wouldn’t wish the ugly head of doubt and depression to plague anyone. You can do this.

