During the winter break of 2015, I wanted to make a hat for the first day of the spring semester. I searched around for a nice one and I found this one from Melanie Ham. She has two options: one for Caron Simply Soft and the other for LionBrand Heartland. The one pictured above is for the Caron Simply Soft yarn and it takes up about 3 ounces of yarn, perhaps more for precaution’s sake.

The pattern basically consist of puff stitches and half-double crochet, and it’s labeled for advanced beginners.

img_8208

When I first did this pattern, it took me about 10 hours, but now it takes me about 4-5 hours, so it can be worked up quite quickly. I have made a few of these for my aunts and mom and they love it. I would love to figure out how to adjust the size, so that my cousin could wear one as well, but I have yet to do so.

In any case, if you would like to try this pattern, click here for the Heartland option and here for the Caron option.

Good luck and happy crocheting!!

